You are here:

About private Acts in Queensland

A private Act of Parliament is an Act that is not of general application but applies only to the private interests of particular individuals or bodies rather than the community at large.

Although the Acts Interpretation Act 1954 (AIA), sections 12 and 12A, continues to recognise private Acts, no private Acts remain in force in Queensland and the current Parliamentary Standing Orders do not allow for the introduction of private Acts.

The last Queensland private Acts not needed on the Statute Book were repealed in December 1991 and a new section 11 was included in the AIA. Under that section, every Act passed after 26 July 1852 was declared to be a public Act unless the particular Act otherwise expressly provides.


Following the commencement of that section, the following 21 Acts that were formerly private Acts remain on the Queensland Statute Book—

  • Ann Street Presbyterian Church Act 1889
  • Bishopsbourne Estate and See Endowment Trusts Act 1898
  • Roman Catholic Church (Corporation of the Sisters of Mercy of the Diocese of Cairns) Lands Vesting Act 1945
  • Returned & Services League of Australia (Queensland Branch) Act 1956

(prev Returned Sailors’, Soldiers’ and Airmen’s Imperial League of Australia, Queensland Branch, Act 1956)

  • Chinese Temple Society Act 1964
  • Anglican Church of Australia (Diocese of Brisbane) Property Act 1889

(prev Church of England (Diocese of Brisbane) Property Act 1889)

  • Anglican Church of Australia Act 1977
  • Boonah Show Ground Act 1914
  • Brisbane Trades Hall Management Act 1984
  • Churches of Christ, Scientist, Incorporation Act 1964
  • Ipswich Trades Hall Act 1986
  • Presbyterian Church of Australia Act 1971
  • Queensland Congregational Union Act 1967
  • Queensland Police Welfare Club Act 1970
  • Queensland Temperance League Lands Act 1985
  • Registration of Plans (Stage 2) (H.S.P. (Nominees) Pty. Limited) Enabling Act 1984
  • Roman Catholic Church (Northern Lands) Vesting Act 1941
  • Roman Catholic Church Lands Act 1985
  • Salvation Army (Queensland) Property Trust Act 1930
  • United Grand Lodge of Antient Free and Accepted Masons of Queensland Trustees Act 1942
  • Uniting Church in Australia Act 1977


Last updated 1 July 2022 at 18:41