

Major Events Act 2014

Major Events (T20 World Cup) Regulation 2019

Current as at 6 December 2019

Reprint note

This is the last reprint before repeal. Repealed on 25 September 2020 by 2020 SL No. 218 s 2.

© State of Queensland 2020





Queensland

Major Events (T20 World Cup) Regulation 2019

Contents

	Page			
Part 1	Preliminary			
1	Short title			
2	Definitions			
Part 2	T20 World Cup events			
3	Major events—Act, s 12			
4	Major event organiser for T20 World Cup events—Act, s 12			
5	Major event areas and controlled areas for T20 World Cup events—Act, s 12			
6	Major event periods and control periods for T20 World Cup events—Act, s 12			
7	Provisions of the Act that apply to T20 World Cup events—Act, ss 12 and 17 5			
8	Provision of the Act that applies in relation to Men's T20 World Cup only—Act, ss 12 and 17 6			
Part 3	Official logos and official titles for T20 World Cup events			
9	Official logos for T20 World Cup events—Act, s 51 6			
10	Official titles for T20 World Cup events—Act, s 51 6			
Part 4	Authorised persons for T20 World Cup events			
11	Persons who may be appointed as authorised persons—Act, s 56 7			
12	Limitations on powers—Act, s 57			
Part 5	Expiry			
13	Expiry 8			
Schedule 1	Major event area and controlled area for Women's T20 World Cup 9			
Schedule 2	Major event area and controlled area for Men's T20 World Cup 10			
Schedule 3	Official logos			
Schedule 4	Dictionary			

Major Events (T20 World Cup) Regulation 2019

Part 1 Preliminary

1 Short title

This regulation may be cited as the *Major Events (T20 World Cup) Regulation 2019*.

2 Definitions

The dictionary in schedule 4 defines particular words used in this regulation.

Part 2 T20 World Cup events

3 Major events—Act, s 12

For section 12(1) of the Act, the following events to be held in 2020 are prescribed as major events—

- (a) the cricket event known as the ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2020;
- (b) the cricket event known as the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2020.

4 Major event organiser for T20 World Cup events—Act, s 12

For section 12(2)(a) of the Act, T20 World Cup 2020 Ltd ACN 618 113 269 is prescribed as the major event organiser for the T20 World Cup events.

5 Major event areas and controlled areas for T20 World Cup events—Act, s 12

- (1) For section 12(2)(b) of the Act—
 - (a) the area shown on the map in schedule 1 as the major event area is prescribed as the major event area for the Women's T20 World Cup; and
 - (b) the area shown on the map in schedule 2 as the major event area is prescribed as the major event area for the Men's T20 World Cup.
- (2) For section 12(3)(a) of the Act—
 - (a) the area shown on the map in schedule 1 as the controlled area is prescribed as the controlled area for the Women's T20 World Cup; and
 - (b) the area shown on the map in schedule 2 as the controlled area is prescribed as the controlled area for the Men's T20 World Cup.

6 Major event periods and control periods for T20 World Cup events—Act, s 12

For section 12(2)(c) and (3)(b) of the Act—

- (a) the following periods are prescribed as the major event period, and the control period, for the Women's T20 World Cup—
 - (i) from 11a.m. to 6p.m. on 15 February 2020;
 - (ii) from 7a.m. to 6p.m. on 16 February 2020;
 - (iii) from 11a.m. to 6p.m. on 18 February 2020;
 - (iv) from 7a.m. to 2p.m. on 20 February 2020; and
- (b) the following periods are prescribed as the major event period, and the control period, for the Men's T20 World Cup—
 - (i) from 11a.m. to 10.30p.m. on 31 October 2020;

- (ii) from 3.30p.m. to 10.30p.m. on 2 November 2020;
- (iii) from 3.30p.m. to 10.30p.m. on 4 November 2020.

7 Provisions of the Act that apply to T20 World Cup events—Act, ss 12 and 17

- (1) For sections 12(2)(d) and 17 of the Act, the following provisions of the Act apply to the T20 World Cup events and the major event areas for the events—
 - (a) section 18;
 - (b) section 20(1) to (5) and (7);
 - (c) section 22;
 - (d) section 25;
 - (e) section 26(1) to (3) and (6);
 - (f) sections 30 to 34;
 - (g) section 36.
- (2) A provision of the Act mentioned in subsection (1) applies to—
 - (a) the Women's T20 World Cup, and the major event area for that event, for the major event period for that event; and
 - (b) the Men's T20 World Cup, and the major event area for that event, for the major event period for that event.
- (3) For section 12(3)(c) of the Act, the following provisions of the Act apply to the controlled areas for the T20 World Cup events—
 - (a) sections 30 to 34;
 - (b) section 36.
- (4) A provision of the Act mentioned in subsection (3) applies to—

- (a) the controlled area for the Women's T20 World Cup for the control period for that event; and
- (b) the controlled area for the Men's T20 World Cup for the control period for that event.

Provision of the Act that applies in relation to Men's T20 World Cup only—Act, ss 12 and 17

For sections 12(2)(d) and (3)(c) and 17 of the Act, section 35 of the Act applies to—

- (a) the Men's T20 World Cup, and the major event area for that event, for the major event period; and
- (b) the controlled area for the Men's T20 World Cup for the control period for that event.

Part 3 Official logos and official titles for T20 World Cup events

9 Official logos for T20 World Cup events—Act, s 51

For section 51(1)(a) of the Act, each of the following logos is declared to be an official logo for the T20 World Cup events—

- (a) a logo in schedule 3;
- (b) a black and white copy of a logo in schedule 3.

10 Official titles for T20 World Cup events—Act, s 51

For section 51(1)(b) of the Act, each of the following titles is declared to be an official title for the T20 World Cup events—

- (a) ICC T20 World Cup 2020;
- (b) ICC T20 World Cup Australia 2020;
- (c) ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2020;
- (d) ICC Women's T20 World Cup Australia 2020;

- (e) ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2020;
- (f) ICC Men's T20 World Cup Australia 2020;
- (g) T20 World Cup.

Part 4 Authorised persons for T20 World Cup events

11 Persons who may be appointed as authorised persons—Act, s 56

For section 56(1)(d) of the Act, the following persons are prescribed for the T20 World Cup events—

- (a) a crowd controller;
- (b) a security officer.

12 Limitations on powers—Act, s 57

- (1) This section limits, for section 57(2) of the Act, the powers of particular authorised persons for the T20 World Cup events.
- (2) An authorised person must not exercise a power under section 18(5) or 25 of the Act unless the person is—
 - (a) a crowd controller; or
 - (b) a police officer; or
 - (c) a security officer.
- (3) An authorised person must not exercise a power under any of the following sections of the Act, unless the person is a police officer—
 - (a) section 30(4);
 - (b) section 32(5);
 - (c) section 33(4);
 - (d) section 54(2);

(e) section 63(2).

Part 5 Expiry

13 Expiry

This regulation expires on 4 November 2020.

Schedule 1 Major event area and controlled area for Women's T20 World Cup

section 5



Schedule 2 Major event area and controlled area for Men's T20 World Cup

section 5



Schedule 3 Official logos

section 9













Schedule 4 Dictionary

section 2

crowd controller means a crowd controller under the *Security Providers Act 1993*.

Men's T20 World Cup means the major event prescribed under section 3(b).

security officer means a security officer under the Security Providers Act 1993.

T20 World Cup events means the major events prescribed under section 3.

Women's T20 World Cup means the major event prescribed under section 3(a).